Ode to my Father

I Know this is a little late for fathers day but I would like to present an Ode to my father Mike P.

It was evening as the white TBM 700 soared through the skies. Sailing over the clouds. Painted pink and red by the setting sun. Inside the cabin, sat  Farther and  Son. They had taken this trip thousands of times in the little boys young life. Each trip was filled with conversation, about sports, life, friends, and beliefs. It was their this little boy learned the song “In the Jungle the Mighty Jungle the Lion Sleeps Tonight.”  This chorus was often sung into the night by father and son, sometimes interrupted by communication with the tower. The boy loved this opportunity, to talk on the radio,

“November 45 Papa Mike, wilco” the small boy said in response to the towers command.

Soon the lights of Orange County could be spotted over the dashboard. The young boy would stand on the seat to peer over the blinking lights of the dash board. His eyes big with excitement. The plane began slowly descending, he clutched the yoke and could feel it move as the father helped guide the bird down.

The plane landed on the runway and taxied to the Terminal.

I had experienced yet another meaningful time with my Father, one that I would not trade for the world.

Its not until later in life, that I think back on times like these, and now understand, that my father used  them to impact my life, and teach me how to be a man, that loved others and respected God, and worked hard.

Family has always been important to me, I love them dearly, even my best friends, I call brothers, because really that’s what they are. My Father has always been their to push me to be the best I can be, and as I grow older I appreciate it more and more.

Im not a huge country, but this song reminds me a lot of me and my father so I thought I’d share it with you.

Published in: on July 1, 2011 at 2:24 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://merrickparnell.wordpress.com/2011/07/01/ode-to-my-father/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very touching Merrick. You are a great son and a great writer.


Leave a Reply

